One Posting Everyday

The Halluci Nation headlining Arctic Winter Video games opening ceremonies, torchbearers named

2 min read

Article content material

The Halluci Nation will headline the opening ceremonies of the Arctic Winter Video games (AWG) subsequent month. The opening ceremonies will probably be a one-our present that features native performances, dancers and fireworks.

Article content material

The Halluci Nation, previously often called A Tribe Known as Pink, is an Indigenous digital music group mixing instrumental hip hop, reggae, moombahton and dubstep-influenced dance music with parts of Indigenous music, significantly vocal chanting and drumming. The group is a duo from the Six Nations of the Grand River in southern Ontario.

“To have a famend band like The Halluci Nation assist us kick off seven days of celebration of sport and tradition may be very particular,” stated AWG spokesperson Eden Boutilier in an announcement.

The committee has additionally chosen torch bearers from each neighborhood within the Fort McMurray Wooden Buffalo area. The Torch Relay will embrace Fort McMurray, in addition to Fort Fitzgerald, Fort Chipewyan, Fort McKay, Anzac, Saprae Creek, Conklin and Janvier.

Article content material

Runners are representing every of the communities. Torchbearers have been nominated and chosen for his or her neighborhood involvement, significantly those that are actively engaged within the classes of youth, sport, tradition or neighborhood.

The Torch Relay crew contains:

Fort Chipewyan

  • Tyrell Marcel
  • Angela Marcel
  • Rayelle Marcel
  • Matthew Marcel
  • Kendrick Cardinal

Fort Fitzgerald/Smith’s Touchdown First Nation

  • Demian Bourque
  • Detonaze Paulette *Extra torchbearers will probably be introduced in January


  • Alexa Cardinal
  • Emile Winterburn
  • Bobbie Brooks
  • Tanis Robillard
  • Shania Desjarlais Janvier
  • President Raoul Montgrand
  • Elder Marie Agnes Herman
  • Lawless Herman
  • Jessica Learn
  • Ida Stepanowich

Fort McKay

  • Jayden Shott
  • Adam McDonald
  • Tayden Shott
  • Alicia Gladue
  • Cruz Fabian
  • Adonis Richards-L’Hommecourt


  • Riley Bourque
  • Brooklyn Wiltzen
  • Bear Croucher
  • Presley Hodgson
  • Rheimer Reid
  • Kate Platt

Saprae Creek

  • Stu Wigle
  • Nicholas Bennett
  • Jasper Harper
  • Novella Haper
  • Everett Harper

Fort McMurray

  • Elder Anne Michalko
  • Melanie Walsh
  • Lucas Punko
  • Ava Ryan and Logan Flett
  • Darrel Laboucan
  • Trevor Snook
  • Dylan Elias
  • Kelli Stewart
  • Rachel Ivey
  • Mattea Adair

The Torch Relay begins on Jan. 11 in Fort Chipewyan and Fort Fitzgerald/Smith’s Touchdown First Nation. It finishes in Fort McMurray on Jan. 28. The Arctic Winter Video games will probably be held between Jan. 29 and Feb. 4.

[email protected]

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.